Document Actions

Digital television switchover

New Zealand completed the transition from analogue to digital television on 1 December 2013. Initial consultations with industry and decisions by Government in 2005 and 2006 led to a hybrid platform of terrestrial and satellite services being adopted. A free-to-air satellite service commenced in 2007 and terrestrial services covering 75% of the population commenced in early 2008. Licences were provided for three transmitters at each site and the terrestrial coverage was extended to 86.5% of the population in 2011/12. Coverage maps are available on the Freeview web site.

Digital terrestrial services were placed in the UHF frequency band and operated in parallel with existing analogue services (which used both VHF and UHF bands). The initial digital UHF frequencies were changed (restacked) in 2012 to both ensure efficient long term use and to free up spectrum in the 700 MHz range for allocation to new uses.

A series of policy decisions in 2008, 2009, and 2011 established the overall digital switchover (DSO) process:

  • policies for conversion of analogue licences to digital licences
  • support for regional broadcasters
  • a targeted assistance programme for viewers, and
  • a series of stages to implement the DSO process (i.e. switch off of analogue transmission).

These policies have now been fully implemented by either Radio Spectrum Management or the Ministry of Culture and Heritage.


The current frequency plan showing licences issued as at 2014:


Digital TV restacking

Changes to digital television frequencies affecting Freeview|HD® viewers. The work undertaken for restacking and advice for consumers regarding returning receivers.

Read more about Digital TV restacking

Last updated 9 December 2014