Home > About RSM > External organisations and links > International organisations
Document Actions

International organisations

The following international organisations support or aid the work undertaken by Radio Spectrum Management.


Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)

ACMA is the independent statutory authority tasked with ensuring most elements of Australia's media and communications legislation, related regulations, and numerous derived standards and codes of practice operate effectively and efficiently, and in the public interest.


Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

APEC is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region.


Asia Pacific Telecommunity (APT)

APT is one of the key organisations of governments spearheading development and innovation programmes in cooperation with telecom service providers, manufactures of communication equipment, and research and development organisations in the field of Communication and Information Technology. APT serves members on ICT in the Asia Pacific Region.


International Special Committee on Radio Interference (CISPR)

CISPR's principal task is preparing standards that offer protection of radio reception from interference sources such as electrical appliances of all types, the electricity supply system, industrial, scientific and electromedical RF, broadcasting receivers (sound and TV) and, increasingly, IT equipment (ITE). CISPR is the major committee of the IEC.


Electrical Regulatory Authorities Council (ERAC)

ERAC is made up of representatives of the regulatory authorities responsible for electrical safety, supply and energy efficiency in New Zealand and the Australian states, territories and commonwealth.


European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)

ETSI is an independent, non-profit, standardisation organisation in the telecommunications industry (equipment makers and network operators) in Europe, with worldwide projection.


International Civil Aviation Authority (ICAO)

ICAO works with the Convention on International Civil Aviation’s Signatory States and global industry and aviation organisations to develop international Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs), which are then used to develop legally-binding national civil aviation regulations.


International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)

IEC is the leading global organization that publishes consensus-based International Standards and manages conformity assessment systems for electric and electronic products, systems and services, collectively known as electrotechnology.


Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

IEEE is the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.


International Maritime Organisation (IMO)

IMO is the United Nations specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships.


International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)

IMSO is the intergovernmental organisation that oversees certain public satellite safety and security communication services provided via the Inmarsat satellites.


International Telecommunications Union (ITU)

ITU is a specialised agency of the United Nations that is responsible for issues that concern information and communication technologies. The ITU coordinates the shared global use of the radio spectrum, promotes international cooperation in assigning satellite orbits, works to improve telecommunication infrastructure in the developing world, and assists in the development and coordination of worldwide technical standards.


World Radiocommunications Conferences (WRC)

WRC is organised by ITU to review, and as necessary, revise the Radio Regulations, the international treaty governing the use of the radio-frequency spectrum and the geostationary-satellite and non-geostationary-satellite orbits.

Last updated 2 December 2014